2014 AGM and Canoeist of the Year

On Saturday 14 June, Whitewater NZ held a successful AGM at University of Canterbury, Christchurch to review the previous year and to plan new initiatives. Following the election of officers to the Executive Committee, James Rae moves from Safety to Access, and we welcome Shaun McCracken and Aaron Osbourne as Safety and Education officers respectively. Thanks to departing Exec members Sean Bellamy (Access) and Aidan Haig (Education) for their hard work. Mick Hopkinson is Canoeist of the Year for 2014, in recognition of his legendary paddling adventures, his education of future generations of kayakers and his ongoing support for river conservation. The 2014 Annual Report summarises the achievements of the previous year and challenges for the next.